Skip to content

Featured Artist: Leah K. Borkenhagen

September 1, 2011

This week, Guildess is featuring Milwaukee-based artist Leah K. Borkenhagen. Leah’s work caught my attention while I was surfing the web one day. The mix of vibrant, unnatural colors with natural subject matter creates a tension that I enjoy. – April Heding (Director)

Leah’s most recent work will be included in “Spirited”, a group exhibition featuring work by Leah Borkenhagen and Rebecca Schoenecker. This exhibition will be on display at the BeExposed! Gallery space from September 16 through October 16, 2011.

Statement/Biography:

I’ve always been an artistic dabbler;  I like to keep my hands busy with a little bit of everything.  Whether it be painting, printmaking, collaging, interior work, jewelry, sculptor, etc., I enjoy it all.  Making art is about more than keeping myself occupied, it’s about taking my interpretation of the world as I see it and reconfiguring it through my hands. 

My work varies in theme and style, but generally I toy with ironies in our culture.  Animals often become metaphors for people and societal norms….snakes, sharks, lions…..I like leveling with the fierce and feared. 

 

Website: http://leahk.webs.com/

 
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

