Skip to content

Dear Guildess supporters…

December 30, 2011

Dear Guildess supporters,

 

I would like to take a moment to thank you for all of your support over the years. Guildess has grown into what it is today because of your continued support and patience.

In 2009, two ambitious women started Guildess with the simple hope of bringing women together. Over the years, our organization has become more than a place for women to gather. We have seen the creativity and energy of our members become a tool for engaging our city and addressing the needs of marginalized women throughout Milwaukee. Guildess’ growth is proof that if female artists stick together, support each other, and reach out to other women in their community, powerful things can happen.

As Director, it has been my privilege to work in service of the invaluable arts programming that Guildess provides the women of Milwaukee. Unfortunately, I have decided to step down from my role as Director of Guildess. I have chosen to seek a graduate education in order to further my understanding of the issues facing artists and women of our time. I will continue to spend my time and energy supporting women’s causes and in the future, I hope to return to an organization like Guildess, with increased knowledge and expertise. I encourage you to continue to support female artists in our community and consider volunteering at an organization that focuses’ on women’s needs.

 

Great organizations to support:

Milwaukee Women’s Center

Lissy’s Place (My Home, Your Home)

Sojourner Family Peace Center

Meta House

Hope House Milwaukee

Daystar, Inc.

 

Throughout this transition, I am committed to honoring the initiatives Guildess began this year. Our About Women, By Women film series and Stitching Our History quilting program will continue through Spring/Summer 2012. If you have any questions about this transition, please feel free to email me at: guildessmilwaukee@gmail.com

 

Thank you and best wishes during this holiday season.

 

Sincerely,

 

April Heding

Director, Guildess Milwaukee

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

